top of page

What the Bachelor's, Katie Thurston, said about dating that we can all relate to...



32-year-old Katie Thurston burst onto the scene as a contestant on Season 25 of the Bachelor in 2021, but prior to that she was a bank marketing manager and even more recently after her rise to fame she has been spotted on the stage collecting cackles as a comedian! Hashtag "get you somebody that can do both".


Katie's love life has been put on display on a level most of us will never experience. And most of us are not mad about that at all. In an interview after the televised romance with 28-year-old Matt James, a real estate broker and charity founder from Raleigh, North Carolina

when asked why she was single she said:


I need someone who isn’t [intimidated] by my life or personality,
“I’m pretty independent so bonus points if I feel taken care of by him, that’s when my feminine energy shines.”

You can say that again Katie! Most of the single and ambitious women I've spoken to have had an "interesting" time navigating the dating world post-covid. I decided to ask a few entrepreneurial women the question: "Why are you single?", and this is what a few of them had to say.


Samantha T. from Wisconsin says:


"Is it just me or do "modern men" need you to play small to make them feel...well bigger? When I say "modern men" I'm referring to the kind of guys that lurk on social media and start podcasts to talk about the bodies, finances, education, and lifestyles of women they don't know and will never meet. You know the kind. The men that scream that Brazilian Butt Lifts and tummy tucks are the devil but follow all the "baddies" with BBLs on IG. The ones who spend their precious and irreplicable time trying to "humble" women with strong opinions by saying things like, "You'll die alone" and "No wonder you're single". 🙄I'm single because my husband wouldn't need me to be less than for him to feel like a man. So, it's obvi I haven't met him yet."

Ashley W. from New York:


"I really don't have too much "free-time" so I rely on swipe right sites like Tinder. Let's all laugh together. On the bright side, the options are vast. Lots of guys (and girls) to look at, but the quality is another story. Alot of men on those apps are married or looking for a third party to add to their already established relationships. And for the record, no thank you, twice. When I finally connect with someone I am attracted to and intrigued by the conversation is usually a bit underwhelming. Most want to go directly from the first message to your front door and immediately to your bed. I'm single because substance seems to be a thing of the past."

Michelle C. from Florida says


"I'm starting to believe my future husband doesn't have a social media. Ironically, my last 3 dates were a result of men "sliding in my DMs" on a social media platform. Why? Because unless my Mr. Right will be in Target on the aisle with the candles, I'm not sure how we'll meet. I'm not embarrassed to say that after waking up at 6a for my morning workout and 12-hour+ days crunching numbers and selling myself to prospective clients as a freelance accountant, you will not find me in a crowded bar with a little black dress on. It's either social media or the candle aisle. That's probably why I'm single. 😂"


Alessia N. from California says:


"I am having the time of my life dating. I travel for a living, and it makes my romantic life like something out of a fairytale. It's not about finding a husband for me. It's about meeting new people and sharing new and amazing experiences with those people, so that I have interesting stuff to talk about with my husband whenever he arrives. Have I kissed some frogs? YES! And you know what, some of them weren't that bad at kissing! I'm single because men are much more fun in fleeting moments."

As a single entrepreneurial woman, I can honestly relate to each and every one of the responses I received on some level. From not having the time or energy to go out and mingle to being completely disturbed by the examples of "modern men" on social media, to somewhat enjoying the fleeting moments more than the idea of "till death do we part" with the men I've connected with. All very relatable.


It takes a special kind of man to date a woman entrepreneur. We have the tendency to be strong willed, determined, and pretty busy. Before you settle for someone who wants you to be less to make them comfortable as Samantha T from Wisconsin describes, just know that there are people out here who appreciate ambition and aren't intimidated by our purposefulness. Until we meet those people, we should all take a page out of Alessia N. from California's book and focus on making memories and just enjoying the moments.

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page