top of page

Behind Her Hustle: Nicole Pomije

Updated: Jun 9, 2022




Nicole Pomije



Nicole's journey unknowingly started in her Minnesota kitchen one Father's Day when she didn't have "the right" pan. It evolved into The Cookie Cup brand which is now a growing chain consisting of 2 stores. We're chatting with Nicole to see how it started and how it's going.



Q: Who is Nicole the boss?


A: These days, it’s more like Nicole- the Mom/Wife/Boss. At home, I try to not work and be present with my family so I can spend time with my 3 year old daughter. Everyday she is learning new things so it’s a really critical time to be around her and understand her growth.




At work (my office in Bakery 2) I manage and run my marketing firm as well as oversee everything going on in the bakery locations. I try to spend time with my bakers as well when I can and be a part of the team I’ve built. I think it’s a really important thing to actually be present with your staff and understand what’s going on in all aspects of their lives. With just under 10 employees, we are a close knit group.


Q: What has been your experience as a woman entrepreneur? Your greatest moments and your worst?


Being a woman entrepreneur (or any entrepreneur) has its ups and downs. One day you can be on top of the world- the next you can be broke and it’s a pandemic. I think my best moments have been opening up each of our locations. I worked really hard to renovate both of them and it’s really satisfying to open up the doors to customers. I’ve also had really exciting days on TV with The Jason Show and most recently, our baking kits were featured on the The Today Show.




My worst experience was building the first location- specifically having trouble finding the right contractors for certain jobs that were priced fairly. It was challenging but we got through it. When you are having a tough day, you have to just keep going. Being an Entrepreneur is all about perseverance. If you can stick it out for the long haul you can do really well.


Q: In an article I read, you mentioned how an "old-fashioned" financial institution denied you for loans. This is one of the reasons Her Hustle Magazine exists. It's unfair and unjust that we have to continuously fight against tradition. What advice do you have for women who are seeking capital?


That was the worst. Basically, they kept me waiting 3 weeks during our initial bakery renovation to tell me no. My advice for those seeking capital is to look inward- not outward. Don’t waste time trying to get someone else to fund you. Think about how you can create the revenue yourself.


You should know: Nicole received only $7,000 in loans to build her 1st location. The rest came out of pocket and from credit cards. When she was hit with unexpected costs, she reluctantly applied for more credit cards to cover them.


Q: What is the "answer" to the problems women in business face in your opinion?


Find other women comraderies and champion each other. Hire women. Don’t try to change people’s perspectives just surround yourself with the right circle and build on that.



Q: Have you always known you wanted to open a bakery? What were some of your previous ambitions?


Not at all. If you would have told me 10 years ago that I would own a bakery chain and product line of kids baking kits I would not believe it. But you know what they say...sometimes the best ideas come when you least expect it.

I also own a marketing and PR firm that focuses on helping emerging brands develop and grow.


Q: When it's time to relax and re-center...how do you do it?


I cook at home with my daughter! :) I genuinely love to cook. Sometimes, if I really want to step away I bake around 8am in the bakery kitchen before my staff comes in.


Q: What would you tell your 18 year old self?






Q: What's your favorite part about being a boss?



Well, I would say freedom, but these days I’m pretty busy to have real freedom. I like being able to hire my own team, control my hours, and experiment with product ideas at my leisure. The part that’s not my favorite is paying bills, taxes, the not so fun things that come along with these freedoms but it’s a give and take.




Hannah Anderson Photo


Photos collected from:

Twitter

swnewsmedia.com

5 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page