top of page

Behind Her Hustle: Collette Divitto

Updated: Apr 26, 2023



We're chatting with 31-year-old Collette Divitto, owner of Collettey's Cookie Corp and Founder of Collettey's Leadership Org. After 3 disappointing years of attempting to find employment and being met with the same "friendly" rejections, Collette decided to take things into her own hands. Her mission? Stability, independence, respect, and a chance to make a difference. Oh, and really good cookies!


Tiffany: Hi, Collette! Thank you for sharing your story with us. Tell us about yourself!



Collette: Hello! I was born in 1990 with Down syndrome, and have been creating my own recipe for cookies for fun since I was very young! I graduated from Clemson University LIFE program and thought my life was going to be great. But, like you said, after 3 years of trying to find a job and going on many interviews I always got the same response…that “Unfortunately you're not a good fit”. This rejection was very disappointing to me, but I would not let it get me down. I had to find a way to make money so I could live independently.



I was so determined that I decided to try to sell my cookies to a local market. They loved them and placed an order for 100 packages. That was in 2016 and I now have 15 employees and create jobs for people with struggles and I have sold over 550,000 cookies. I also started a non-profit where mentor and teach workshops for other people that have challenges. I love doing that and helping others has become my passion.


Since that time, I have grown my company to offer 8 different types of cookies, including a dog treat and a gluten free option! I have spoken in 18 countries and recently featured in Forbes Magazine, People Magazine, CNN, CBS World News, ABC Evening News, Huffington Post, AND I’m super excited about my TV series on Peacock called Born for Business!


Tiffany: That's pretty inspiring stuff, Collette! Wow! With all you've accomplished, what's the most rewarding part of your journey thus far?


Collette: The most rewarding part of my company is actually 2 things. One, I get to help other people with challenges and struggles with jobs and education for jobs and two, people are finally noticing me and giving me the respect I have always wanted so badly.


Tiffany: The respect you've always deserved, might I add! It's possible that a majority of ambitious women are driven by a desire for respect. We're usually doing more to prove that we're deserving of less. But, that's just one of the difficulties women entrepreneurs are facing and one that this company and our partners were built to tackle. So, what would you say is the hardest part of what you do?



Collette: The hardest part of my job is something I am faced with often and that is; when I meet someone in business, and they know it is my company, but they ask me who they can speak with to discuss general questions. About my company. Sometimes people assume it can't be me [that owns the company]. That stinks and I wonder if it is always going to happen. I wish the world would realize that just because a person has a disability does not mean they are not capable of things.


One thing I really wish and hope my journey affects is this word disabled and disability. I really don’t like it and I think it limits our potential. My mom always said “Everyone has abilities and disabilities – things they are good at and things they are not good at. But we don’t use the word disability. We say strengths and weaknesses.” I wish that applied to everyone.


My free time is spent going out with friends for drinks and dinner, visiting all my family in NY and CA, going to concerts and sports games, listening to music, going to the gym every day, taking long walks, reading, cooking, traveling and going to Church on Sundays. I celebrate my accomplishments with family, prosecco and a great meal! Usually Italian or French.


Tiffany: First of all, #ForeverMood. Because, give me a glass of wine and the people I love to toast to my accomplishments, and I'm genuinely happy. Secondly, thank you for sharing that, and I really hope people hear you and take heed to what you're saying. I agree with mom! There are some things I just don't do well, and I can't imagine the frustration I'd experience after working so hard to achieve amazing things and just because I had weaknesses, they questioned my ability to do anything amazing at all. I think the best way to make sure that happens less is to use the platforms you're given to tell people exactly how you feel. Like you're doing right now!


So, we're going to wrap the interview up. And I want to thank you again for taking the time to inspire us today. Last question, what is a piece of advice you'd give to women entrepreneurs across America? Thee most important thing you could say to them.


Collette: My piece of advice to anyone who wants to be an entrepreneur – you need to love what you do and be 100% willing to work hard. Having your own business is awesome – being the boss – making your own decisions…but it also means you have to think... a lot, research... a lot, and be willing to learn and improve every day. You can never just sit back and show up to work.


Tiffany: Great advice, Collette. I see no lies told. You definitely have to be ready to push through and pivot. Always learning, researching your market, connecting with your tribe. It's nothing like clocking in every day...and it's definitely not for everybody!


But for those who are on this entrepreneurial journey with Collette and the HHM team, know that you can achieve anything you put your mind to and your heart in. You are your only limitation. Believing in yourself is the magic!


Check out Collette's web series here: you tube channel

Trailer to Collette's TV show on Peacock: www.shopify.com/born-for-business












56 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page