top of page

3 Things I Know Now, That I wish I would've Known When Starting My Business.

Updated: Jun 9, 2022

Our inspiring leader, Tiffany Monique, asked a question on social media that struck a chord with me. “What do you know now that you wish you would’ve known when you started your business?”


This question is so important to me because women tend to lone wolf; we feel like we must do everything on our own. We are supporters by nature; this outpour to help others before ourselves. So merely asking what trials and tribulations others have gone through supports us in not making the same mistake.


One of my greatest assets in building my brand, Modern Match Lingerie, was the ability and gift to surround myself with like-minded individuals. People who have a vision and are moving forward in life in an inspiring and impactful way. For those who focus on manifestation, this tool is key. Ask yourself, “What energy have I surrounded myself with?”

I have highlighted my top 3 tips in business that I wish I would’ve known initially. Areas I should’ve made a priority to focus on, tools that would’ve launched my business forward faster, ways of being that would’ve supported the woman I was becoming.

Get really good at one social platform before half-assing multiple.



The ability to multitask is false. No one in the world is 100% effective at multitasking. The reality is, is you are splitting your full attention over multiple areas. And at the beginning of business time is money. So instead of taking your 100% attention and dividing in 50 different ways, master one. Get really good at one social platform, to a point you can automate it before adding a second platform. You will have a deeper relationship with how the algorithm works, how people interact, and what visually attracts people to that particular platform.



Get curious and ask questions.




The majority of business owners today have started their business because they want to make a difference in the world. When I first started designing my lingerie brand, I picked up the phone and called fashion designers, fashion school instructors, and I reached out to people on LinkedIn. And although some calls were never returned, I also connected with some incredible people in my industry. People can be incredibly generous with their wisdom and time. Don’t allow your fear of rejection to get in your way.


Go deep and narrow instead of wide and shallow.




It is always a race to get to the top. To reach our goals and start making money as fast as possible. Because let us face it, we need to make money to grow. However, the one thing I was so focused on in the beginning was getting my follow-up. I wanted higher followers on Facebook and Instagram. But the reality is, it costs more to acquire new customers than it does to retain customers. So, the golden question is, “how can I bring more value to the people right in front of me?”

The power of community is going to be one of your greatest assets. Being part of Tiffany’s community and various others has allowed me the space to grow as a woman, a business owner and a leader. I would love to hear your thoughts, tips, and ways of being that have supported you! After all, we are stronger together.

To see more lessons learned by other women in business download Issue 6 "Renewal" here.


Shauna Allan is the founder of Modern Match Lingerie Inc. and The Bra Bra Sisterhood – armed with a cup of java and her favorite pieces of lingerie, she hosts a safe space where women can simply just be women! Join our community here!




13 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page